Week One

March 31 Tues.

Introduction to Class.

Course Schedule and Objectives + Policies.

What is javaScript? What is jQuery?

→ Prepare 16 images for Thursday.


April 2 Thurs.

Demo: Photoshop for the web.

Coding a responsive lightbox gallery.

Getting started with jQuery.

jQuery light box w.fancybox
→ Prepare a simple HTML + CSS home page for Tuesday April 7

 

 

Week Two

April 7 Tues.

Coding a responsive slider.

→ jQuery light box w.flexbox 2 & ResponsiveSlides.js


April 9 Thurs.

Introduction to javaScript.

Introduction to jQuery.

Coding rollovers + animated menu with jQuery.

→ Watch lynda.com jQuery Essential Training

→ jQuery exercise_1 due Tuesday14 April

 


Week Three

April 14 Tues.

Introduce Project 1: Vertical Parallax Site

In-Class Exercise: Begin Vertical Parallax Site

→Design Comps for Project_1 due Tuesday 28 April.

→Custom Parallax Sites due Tuesday 5 May.

 

April 16 Thurs.

Mission Day : No Class

 


Week Four

April 21 Tues.

In-Class Exercise: Finish Vertical Parallax Site


April 23 Thurs.

Outside Studio Time

 


Week Five

April 28 Tues.

Due: Design Comps for Project_1

Studio Time: Markup + CSS for Custom Parallax Sites.


April 30 Thurs.

Due: Markup + CSS for Project_1

Demo: skrollr.js re-fresh

Studio Time: Scripting Animation for Custom Parallax Sites.

→Read Nicholas Carr's The Shallows, p.1 for discussion/quiz Tuesday 7 May

 


Week Six

May 5 Tues.

Due: Finished + Working Online Parallax + Animation for Project_1

Critique Custom Parallax Sites.


May 7 Thurs.

Discuss The Shallows, p.1

Introduce Animation: CSS3 -vs- JavaScript.

Demo: stop motion and tween motion.

→ Create 16 frame animation due Tuesday 12 May.

→Read The Shallows, p.2 for discussion/quiz Thursday 14 May

 


Week Seven

May 12 Tues.

Demo: Generating Sprites.

Working with the Canvas Element.

Demo: Working with a Tween Engine.

→ Watch lynda.com Up and Running with Canvas


May 14 Thurs.

Discuss The Shallows, p.2

Studio Time: Working with Animation

 


Week Eight

May 19 Tues.

Demo: Custom jQuery Objects + Forms.

→Design Comps for Project_2 due Tuesday 26 May

May 21 Thurs.

Studio Time: Working with jQuery

 


Week Nine

May 26 Tues.

Due: Design Comps for Project_2

Studio Time: work on Sites for Project_2


May 28 Thurs.

Studio Time: work on Sites for Project_2



Week Ten

June 2 Tues.

Studio Time: work on Sites for Project_2


June 4 Thurs.

******* Final Critique *******





Top